The Commission has issued a notice of proposed rulemaking for the purpose of making amendments to Commission's Rules of Practice and Procedure and Regulations, Regulation Nos. 51-09 and 58-02(b). Written comments are due no later than January 4, 2015. See our Rulemakings & Taxicab Ratemakings page.
Application filing fees, carrier annual fees, and fees for most other types of WMATC filings will increase on June 30, 2015. The new fee schedule was adopted by the Commission in Order No. 15,560.
A 2013 injunction enjoining Reliable Limousine Service, LLC, Reliable Limousine and Bus Service, LLC, Paul Rodberg, and any other entity controlled by Paul Rodberg from transporting passengers for hire between points within the Metropolitan District was recently upheld on appeal by the U.S. Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit. A copy of the injunction can be found here . A copy of the appellate court’s opinion can be found here .
The Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Commission approved a rate increase for Washington Flyer Taxicabs, which transport passengers to and from Dulles International Airport. The mileage rate increased from $2.00 per mile to $2.16 per mile. Waiting time charges also increased slightly. More details are available in Order Nos. 14,773 , 14,789, and 15,072. The new rates, which took effect June 19, 2014, are available here.
The Commission has issued a notice of proposed rulemaking for the purpose of making amendments to Commission's Rules of Practice and Procedure and Regulations, Regulation Nos. 54, 58, 60, and 67. Comments are due no later than August 25, 2014. See our Pending Proceedings page.
In cases of inclement weather, WMATC follows the federal government’s operating schedule. To check the current operating status, visit the U.S. Office of Personnel Management website at https://www.opm.gov/policy-data-oversight/snow-dismissal-procedures/current-status/
In response to two fatal rollover crashes, the U.S. National Traffic Safety Administration has issued a consumer advisory urging operators of 15 passenger vans to take specific steps to ensure passenger safety, including monitoring vehicle tire condition. To read the advisory, click here.
In 2007, the District of Columbia enacted new vehicle registration requirements for chartered buses seating more than 15 passengers that are operated within the District of Columbia. Under these new requirements, such vehicles must either: (1) be registered as a commercial vehicle within Washington D.C. and bear Washington DC license plates; (2) be registered in their home state with apportioned license plates; or (3) display a valid trip permit from the DC Department of Motor Vehicles. A trip permit costs $50, lasts 6 days, and covers only one specific vehicle.
Compliance with this new law does not exempt a carrier from WMATC requirements, and possession of WMATC operating authority does not exempt a carrier from compliance with the new District of Columbia law. For more information about the new D.C. charter bus requirements, contact the District of Columbia Department of Motor Vehicles at (202) 729-7083 or visit http://www.dmv.dc.gov/service/obtain-trip-permit.