Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Commission

The Washington Metropolitan Area Transit District, referred to as the Metropolitan District, includes: the District of Columbia; the cities of Alexandria and Falls Church of the Commonwealth of Virginia; Arlington County and Fairfax County of the Commonwealth of Virginia, the political subdivisions located within those counties, and that portion of Loudoun County, Virginia, occupied by the Washington Dulles International Airport; Montgomery County and Prince George's County of the State of Maryland, and the political subdivisions located within those counties; and all other cities now or hereafter existing in Maryland or Virginia within the geographic area bounded by the outer boundaries of the combined area of those counties, cities, and airports.

For the purpose of setting interstate taxicab rates, the Metropolitan District also includes that portion of Anne Arundel County, Maryland, occupied by the Baltimore Washington International Airport.

The following types of transportation are excluded from the Commission’s jurisdiction:

  • By water, air, or rail.
  • By federal, state or local government.
  • By the Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority.
  • By motor vehicle employed solely as a K-12 school bus.
  • Solely within Virginia.

For more information, see the WMATC Jurisdiction FAQs.